Walk around London: Park Lane and a bit further

After the Animals at War experience I crossed the road to Park Lane itself.

Now, for me the name (as well as many other London’s names) always associate with the Galsworthy’s The Forsyte Saga. I love this book, read it many many times and remember very well how Soames Forsyte visited his sister Winifred in her house at Park Lane… 🙂

2013-12-14 11.57.41So I was walking slowly along the street trying to guess what house would Winifred live in?

2013-12-14 12.16.33

No, too showy-off 🙂

A lot of the magnificent buildings on Park Lane are posh hotels now, Marriott and Hilton of course, and the poshest of all – The Dorchester

dorechester 2

A suite here is over £9000 ($14,500) PER NIGHT!

When you are walking along a  street in 21st century and seeing signs “Ballroom” every now and again – it makes you feel quite weird… like Were am I? 🙂

Ok, I reached my interim destination – Wellington Arch.

2013-12-14 12.35.26

When I was crossing the road junction to get to the Arch I saw some sort of murals on the walls of the subway depicting the life and deeds of the Great Man. It was quite interesting actually! I think I was the only one looking though…  No wonder the newspaper guy was eyeing me suspiciously 🙂

Had a little rest on a bench near the monument

2013-12-14 12.35.10Crossed the road to my final goal – Apsley House

2013-12-14 12.34.40

I had done some research!

Apsley House, also known as Number One, London, is the London townhouse of the Dukes of Wellington. It stands alone at Hyde Park Corner, facing south towards the busy traffic roundabout in the centre of which stands the Wellington Arch. It is a Grade I listed building. The house is now run by English Heritage and is open to the public as a museum and art gallery, although the 8th Duke of Wellington still uses the building as a part-time residence”

That’s exactly why I wanted to go there (not mentioning the chance of meeting the 8th Duke perhaps).

Guess what? IT WAS CLOSED FOR REFURBISHMENT TILL BLOODY APRIL! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagggggghhhhhhhhh!

Such a disappointment…

Oh, well, would have to find something else then.

Leave a Reply

