London Walk: a pleasant discovery

After my bad luck with Apsley House (closed for refurbishment) I was a bit baffled – what to do next? I had been counting on that visit.

Oh, well, I just had to keep walking didn’t I?

So I strolled down some street (herds of tourists everywhere) and spontaneously decided to turn off a side street…

And I found myself in a completely amazing world!

Deserted streets… with beautiful buildings… one or two passers-by… all this in the very centre of London! Wow! How was it even possible?!

2013-12-14 13.24.20

Mysterious building… Quite unusual in the midst of Georgian architecture of that street…

2013-12-14 13.19.41

Ha! Another arch! Don’t think it was as famous as the other two though 🙂

Everything was so quiet… so deserted… so mysterious… Where was I? In some completely different and enchanted world.

I walked  further and further away from the noise and bustle of London and eventually  I reached this monument

2013-12-14 13.26.212013-12-14 13.26.30

Hmm, I thought, he must be the man responsible for creation of this heavenly corner of the capital, surely. Especially when I saw this inscription:


2013-12-14 13.26.38And this is what he meant:

2013-12-14 13.29.02

All the surrounding streets are built as crescents, full of noble wonderful buildings

2013-12-14 13.27.22

So I looked him up. Errm, no, he wasn’t what I thought at all, not an artist or an architect  – just a 18th century aristocrat. So why the monument then? Aha, looks like it was because the actual place, Grosvenor Square is the centrepiece of the Mayfair (exclusive London’s district) property of the Duke of Westminster. In the beginning of the 18th century one of them got a licence  to develop Grosvenor Square and the surrounding streets and I have to admit he did a good job!

2013-12-14 13.31.18

Lovely little garden all covered with fallen leaves… Still nobody around…

2013-12-14 13.33.57

And this tall, somber and beautiful church in the middle of an empty street

From here I started hearing the noise of London again. Time to go back from this enchanted world which I could never imagine even existed in the midst of London

 

 

Leave a Reply

