Iris… an elusive flower

iris

This is an alpine iris in my garden. It is quite small but, of course, beautiful.

But!

These irises are the only ones that I can grow in my garden! All the others – the  big bearded irises – just don’t want to grow or, if they grow, they don’t flower. I can’t count how many different bulbs I have planted, all various colours – and nothing! I read loads of articles and advice sections on them and tried as best I could to follow them and the result? Nothing!

I have to say that I am quite good with all the other flowers I grow in my garden and it is always full of colour all different plants and flowers donate for me.

Why not irises then?

Oh, well, I suppose I can still enjoy the elaborate beauty of these miniature copies of the forever elusive flowers. Irises…

Leave a Reply

