My London Travels: Architecture

I love London! Not that I would ever wanted to live there, but I really enjoy my visits there every now and again. And I always find treasures of various kinds all over the place.

Today I was paying attention to the London architecture. It is so majestic!

Just walking at the very heart of London you can’t help admiring the splendid buildings everywhere – just lift your head a little bit!

I was walking down Regent Street (named after Prince regent, later George IV) and looking around… Wow! What an architectural feast! Every building in Regent Street is protected as a listed builing with at least Grade II status, the styles varying from classical, Gothic, French neo-classical, Tudor-style, post-Edwardian to art deco! And all of them just beautiful.

 

DSCN9336

I love this round tower at the corner!

DSCN9337DSCN9338DSCN9335

DSCN9334

Magnificent entrance!

 

Look how the street curves and the building curves with it

Look how the street curves and the building curves with it

DSCN9329

Love the balconies!

DSCN9333

 

DSCN9352

I have a weakness for the buildings’ corners – they are not just the boring square “normal” corners but wonderfully inventive ones. And the balconies, of course!

DSCN9353

 

This dome in the corner is so intriguing. What is it for?

This dome in the corner is so intriguing. What is it for?

So, here is my love letter to London buildings.

I have a lot more to say – but later… 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

